Colorado Senate Education Committee

The Senate Education Committee considers matters concerning: K-12 public schools, including public school accountability and school finance; and higher education, including administration and governance, tuition, and financial assistance.  In addition, the committee has legislative oversight responsibility for the departments of Education and Higher Education.


Committee Members

Owen Hill, Chair

Vicki Marble, Vice-Chair


Chris Holbert


Michael Merrifield


Laura Woods


Mike Johnston


Tim Neville




Andy Kerr

  Nancy Todd   



Staff Contact:  Rachel Kurtz-Phelan*  Phone: (303) 866-3028



2015 Committee Schedule

Meeting Days Time Location Meeting Information

Senate Calendar

Bills and Fiscal Notes 

 (Access Instructions) 

Meeting Summaries and Votes

 (Access Instructions) 

 Thursdays 1:30 PM SCR 356





2014-15 SMART Government Act Hearings
Meeting Information


December 3  Agenda  Summary  9:00 a.m.  LSB A 

General Committee Information










Sign up here to receive periodic committee updates and schedule changes.



The Legislative Council Staff prepares memoranda, bill tracking documents, summaries of legislation, reports, and issue briefs related to education.