DPHMD History

image of timeline

Below you will find a bit of history about our Division. Please check back!  We are researching our founding members and plan to provide more information about who we are and how we got to where we are now!   

Very Brief History

The Division for Physical, Health and Multiple Disabilities began as the Association of Educators of Homebound and Hospitalized Children (AEHHC). It was organized initially on April 26, 1957, formally affiliated with the Council for Exceptional Children April 8-12, 1958, and chartered on April 22, 1960.  The name of the Division was changed to the Division of the Physically Handicapped and then to the Division for Physical and Health Disabilities in (year pending).  In 2010, we became the Division for Physical, Health and Multiple Disabilities.  We will update this page as more information becomes available.  If you have information about our history, please email Mari Beth Coleman (mbc@utk.edu).  

The Presidents 

The list below contains the names and locations of all the people who have served as president of the Division.  We plan to add more information about some of these individuals as we acquire it from our long-time members and/or archives.  

1958-60 Ruth E. Green Springfield, IL
1960-61 Albert R. Goldsmith Pittsburgh, PA
1960-62 Elizabeth Wetzel Houston TX
1962-63 June Peterson Seattle, WA
1963-64 Edythe F. Blackburn  Ottawa, ON, Canada
1964-65 Clarissa Hug  Chicago, IL
1965-66 Gloria Calovini Springfield, IL
1966-67 Marian Hunter Detroit, MI
1967-68  Virginia Lorentz Carnegie, PA
1968-69 Dorothy M. Seigle  Las Vegas, NV
1969-70 Gloria Wolinsky New York, NY
1970-71 Dorothy Carr San Pedro, CA
1971-72  Elizabeth M. Goodman Washington, DC
1972-73 Geraldine Fergen Normal, IL
1973-74 Frances P. Connor Jackson Heights, NY
1974-75 Ethel Leach Denton, TX
1975-76 Arselia S. Ensign Lansing, MI
1976-77 Betty Kolstoe Greeley, CO
1977-78 June Bigge San Francisco, CA
1978-79  Dennis Fair  Slippery Rock, PA
1979-80 Peter Cardullias Cincinnati, OH
1980-81  Ronald Howard Washington, DC
1981-82 Barbara Kulik Northridge, CA
1982-83  Jane Scandary Lansing, MI
1983-84 Karlene Duke Winter Springs, FL
1984-85 Gary A. Best Los Angeles, CA
1985-86 June B. Mullins Pittsburgh, PA
1986-87  Peter Kopriva Fort Collins, CO
1987-88 Michael D. Weinroth Lawrenceville, GA
1988-89 John Venn Jacksonville, FL
1989-90  Phyllis Ollie Milwaukee, WI
1990-91  Pamela Smith Lexington, KY
1991-92 Vivian Rankin   Chicago, IL
1992-93 Karen Kainz S. Milwaukee, WI
1993-94 Carolyn M. King  Stone Mountain, GA
1994-95 Donna Kloppenburg Marietta, GA
1995-96 Mary Kay Dykes  Gainesville, FL
1996-97 Sherwood Best  Ontario, CA
1997-98 Joseph Taylor Fresno, CA
1998-99 Kathryn Wolff Heller Doraville, GA
1999-00 Donald Cross Lexington, KY
2000-01  Catherine Keating  Providence, RI
2001-02 Steven Daley Sacramento, CA
2002-03  Dianne Koontz Lowman Richmond, VA
2003-04 Elisabeth Cohen  Cranford, NJ
2004-05 David Ross Kutztown, PA
2005  Kathy Segers  Macon, GA
2006 Alison Stafford  Marietta, GA
2007 & 2008 Pamela DeLoach Tampa, FL
2009 Mari Beth Coleman Knoxville, TN
2010 Blanche Jackson Glimps  Nashville, TN
2011  Linda Thomas Tampa, FL
2012 Lisa Pufpaff  Muncie, IN
2013 Kharon Grimmet Bloomington, IN
2015 David Gordon New York, NY
2016 Patrice Kuntzler New York, NY
2017 Megan Elam Cincinnati, OH
2018 Angie Juárez Los Angeles, CA