Teacher of the Year Award

The DVIDB Teacher of the Year Award honors a person who is exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable and a skilled certified Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments or Certified Orientation and Mobility Specialist in any state approved or accredited day or specialized school, who serves students who are visually impaired, ages birth through 21, with or without additional disabilities.



2016 Winner

Teacher of the Year Award

Rachel Schles


Past recipients of the DVIDB Teacher of the Year Award include: 

2015 - Karen Koehler

2014 - Karyn Goldman

2013 - Wendy Watts

2012 - Cristal White Smith

2011 - Meredith McArdle

2010 - Dr. Sinnika Smothers

2009 - Barbara Johnson

2008 - Cindy Mock

2007 - Dr. Sheila Amato

2006 Susan Osterhaus

2005 Keely Hipp

2004 Bonnie Lawrence

2003  Judy Cernkovich