Teacher of Excellence

Excellence in Teaching Award

The North Carolina Council for Exceptional Children invite anyone interested in nominating an outstanding educators for students with disabilities. This award recognizes a teacher who has demonstrated excellence in meeting the needs of exceptional children.

Previous Award Recipients
2006: Gail Bettis, Cleveland County Schools
2008: Perry Slade, Alamance County Schools
2010: Rhys Myrick Potts, Pitt County Schools
2011: Julie Brickhouse, Pitt County Schools
2012: Amber Izrael, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools
2013: Lara Brickhouse, Pitt County Schools and Katie Brothers, Township Three Elementary School
2015: Lorriane (Lori) Hall, Alamance Burlington Schools
2016: Judy Jennings, Alamance Burlington Schools
2017: Casey Otten, Wake County Public Schools 

2017 Excellence in Teaching Award Winner

Casey Otten, Wake County Public Schools

As the Special Education department chairperson at Salem Middle School, Casey Otten is the “go to person” for all things related to special needs. Ms. Otten has a warm, engaging personality and quickly earns the respect of her students, their peers, her peers, her support team, and her administration. One parent said, “From day one, her immediate and long-term goals were always about what our son could do… rather than what people thought he couldn’t do.” Her principal, Elaine Hofmann said Ms. Otten cares deeply about the students and their families. “Ms. Otten puts heartfelt work into developing close relationships with her students that last beyond the years in the classroom. Ms. Otten is always going above and beyond for her students and their families.”

Nomination Forms DUE by 11/15/17
Download the form and return to: nc.cec.past.pres@gmail.com 

2018 Excellence in Teaching Award Nomination Form