President's Welcome

Fellow North Dakota CEC members,

I hope that you are all off to a great start to the 2016-2017 school year!!! I had full intentions of getting this “Welcome Back” letter out long ago, however, this school year has proven that it will be a fast paced school year!! With that said, Welcome Back on behalf of the North Dakota Council for Exceptional Children!!

I first want to introduce you to your 2016-2017 NDCEC Executive Board: Karla Sundhagen (Williston), President; Sarah Thorson (Minot) Past President/Membership; Amy Braddock (West Fargo), President Elect; Nicole Johnson (Devils Lake) Treasurer; Eric Steele (Minot) Secretary; Heidi Budeau (Bismarck/Mandan), CAN; John LaMontague (Bismarck/Mandan), Representative Assembly ; and Carly Feiler (Bismarck/Mandan), Newsletter Editor/Social Media.

I am happy to announce that planning is very much underway for the 2017 Annual Conference and it sounds like it is going to be one you won’t want to miss!! This year the theme is “Portraits of Success.” Mark your calendars for February 1-3,2017 in Bismarck, ND at the Radisson Hotel. The conference planning committee, headed by co-chairs Carly Feiler and Tamara Waters-Wheeler are working hard making arrangements for you as educators for Exceptional Children. We are pleased to announce that the keynote speaker will be Dr. Bruce Perry, who specializes in Childhood Trauma. He is a native of Bismarck, ND. This event, as a whole, will provide you with information to enhance your professional development. Not only will you be able to hear Dr. Bruce Perry as keynote, but you will also be able to attend breakout sessions to help you learn the latest in evidence-based practices; explore innovative technologies, products, and services. You will also be able to network with other professionals working with children with exceptionalities and their families.

The North Dakota Council for Exceptional Children website: Council for Ex ceptional Children Community at Please add our website in your “favorites” or “bookmark” for the updates. Also, you can check us out on Twitter (@NDCEC922) and Facebook (North Dakota Council for Exceptional Children #922).

It is my honor to serve you as President of NDCEC. Please contact me at if you have any ideas,questions,or concerns. I want to say “Thank You”to each and everyone of you for the work you do for children with exceptionalities. I hope you are all able to attend the 2017 NDCouncil for Exceptional Children Annual Conference February 1 -3 in Bismarck, ND at the Radisson.

Karla Sundhagen

NDCEC President 2016-2017