TN CEC Executive Board

President:  Joan Grim

Joan Grim is a Lecturer in the Special Education Program at the University of Tennessee. Her professional interests include preparation of pre-service special educators to teach preschool and school age children with comprehensive disabilities. She serves as the faculty advisor for UTK Student Council for Exceptional Children.

President-Elect:  Cindy Lang

Photo of Cindy LangDr. Cindy Lang
is an Assistant Professor of Special Education at Carson-Newman University. As a product of small, liberal arts teacher preparation programs (Wheaton College ’91 and National-Louis University ’95) and as a former special educator, her research interests include pre-service teacher education, co-teaching, and faculty development in collaboration and co-teaching.

Immediate Past President: Alexandra Da Fonte

Dr. Alexandra Da Fonte is an Assistant Professor of the Practice in the Department of Special Education at Vanderbilt University. Her primary interests are in the areas of teacher training, bridging research-to-practice, and on training pre-service special education teachers to work with students with significant communication needs. Additionally, Dr. Da Fonte currently serves as faculty advisor for VU SCEC.

Treasurer: Seth King

Dr. Seth King is an Assistant Professor of Special Education at Tennessee Technological University (TTU), where he teaches courses related to special education, behavior management, and applied behavior analysis. He received his doctoral training at the University of Pittsburgh. His research interests include academic interventions for students with emotional disturbance.

Secretary: Sally Barton-Arwood

Dr. Sally Barton-Arwood has worked in the field of education for over 30 years. She earned her doctorate in special education at Vanderbilt University in 2003. Her areas of interest and research include teacher preparation, emotional and behavioral disorders, and Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support.


CAN Coordinator: Luann Ley Davis

Dr. Luann Ley Davis is an Assistant Professor of Special Education at the University of Memphis. She has worked in the special education field for nearly 20 years. Her research includes teaching grade-aligned content to students with moderate/severe disability using technology. She teaches courses in systematic instruction, direct instruction, behavior management, and general curriculum access/adapted curriculum. Luann has served as the CAN Coordinator for Colorado, and North Carolina prior to joining the TN Exec Committee. She received her Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Membership Committee Chair: Amy Callender

Amy Locke Callender, PhD, serves as a lecturer in the special education program at Tennessee Tech University. With 20 years of service working with children and adults who are differently abled and their families she continues to research and explore multifaceted ways to better serve this population.  She serves as a faculty advisor for the TN Tech’s SCEC organization. 

Communications Chair:  Mari Beth Coleman
Picture of Mari Beth Coleman
Dr. Mari Beth Coleman is an Associate Professor in the Special Education Program at the University of Tennessee. Her primary interests are in the areas of using assistive technology to provide curriculum access for students of all ages and ability levels and preparing teachers to work with students who have physical and health impairments.

Past Presidents:

2016 and 2017 Alexandra Da Fonte, Vanderbilt University
2015 Clinton Smith, University of Tennessee at Martin

2014 Kim Moffett, Lee University
2013 Julie Crowe, Metro Nashville Schools
2012 Clinton Smith, Shelby County Schools
2011 Pamela Hudson, Hamilton County Schools
2010 Cel Franklin, Metro Nashville Schools